About ORSP

Mission Statement

The Office of Research & Sponsored Programs (ORSP) helps to create a dynamic, engaging and vibrant environment for SF State faculty and students. By providing support and infrastructure, ORSP gives faculty and students the opportunity to engage in life changing programs that  have an impact both individually and to the broader community.

ORSP administers grants and contracts on behalf of the University for Principal Investigators (PIs) acting independently, collaboratively (working with colleagues at SF State or at other universities), or as part of a Center or Institute initiative (Research & Service Organization, RSO).

ORSP supports the success of researchers by:

  • Aiding in the development and management of programs, from concept through service, delivery, and publication
  • Creating intellectually rewarding collaborations among faculty, research partners and students in order to encourage interdisciplinary research
  • Fostering strategic alliances with community partners and external funding agencies
  • Supporting the development of new models that integrate research and teaching in meaningful ways
  • Enhancing the competitiveness of researchers by expanding the grantsmanship and research skills of faculty and staff
  • Developing new, and supporting existing, dedicated research centers
  • Providing a full range of administrative services including proposal preparation and submission, post award management, and a regulatory compliance program

This section of the ORSP website houses basic information about different aspects of Technology ("Tech") Transfer, mostly focusing upon Intellectual Property (IP). Through links to external resources, and documents and forms that pertain specifically to SF State, it should provide a basic understanding of how IP and IP protection may relate to your work at San Francisco State University and beyond.

Tech Transfer

Tech Transfer is the process of transferring scientific findings from one organization to another for the purpose of further development and commercialization. The process typically includes:

  • Identifying new technologies
  • Protecting technologies through patents and copyrights
  • Forming development and commercialization strategies such as marketing and licensing, based on the technology

Intellectual Property

According to the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) (a specialized agency of the United Nations), Intellectual Property (IP): Refers to creations of the mind: inventions, literary and artistic works, and symbols, names, images, and designs used in commerce.
 

IP is divided into two categories:  Industrial property, which includes inventions (patents), trademarks, industrial designs, and geographic indications of source; and Copyright, which includes literary and artistic works such as novels, poems and plays, films, musical works, artistic works such as drawings, paintings, photographs and sculptures, and architectural designs.

UAV/Drone Request Form

Approval Process

All prospective operators of Uncrewed Aircraft Vehicles (UAVs) must submit a Flight Operations Proposal to the University Uncrewed Aircraft Review Board (UARB). The UARB will review the proposal and may ask for revisions as necessary to comply with University guidelines and FAA requirements. Once approved, the use of the UAV must follow the Flight Operations. The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs encourages prospective users to seek approval of a Flight Operations plan prior to submission of proposals for both internal and external support.

Flight Operations Proposals should minimally address the following elements:

   1. Proof that UAV is registered with the FAA

   2.  Purpose (research, instruction, other) and goals of the work to be undertaken, and need for UAV to accomplish goals

   3.  Type of UAV/equipment to be utilized and the manner in which it/they will be operated

   4.  Type of operation: manual or robotic

   5.  The identity of pilot(s) or other remote operator(s) and any licenses or certifications

   6.  Dates/schedule of activities to be undertaken

   7.  Locale(s) and flight plan for operations, including a map showing geofence boundary and proposed flight pattern

   8.  All forms of data (including imagery) to be collected

   9.  Provisions for security of the equipment, both during and outside of operation, and of any sensitive data collected

   10.  Sources and type of financial support for the UAV operation, if appropriate (e.g., via grant, contract, department, etc.)

   11.  Proof of access/permission to public or private property associated with flight operations

   12.  Communications plan for notifying University Police, local police agencies, and local Airport facilities, as appropriate, in the overflight radius of planned operations each time a UAV is flown

   13.  Written affirmation that the UAV will be used only for non-commercial, research/scholarship purposes

Operational Requirements

It is the responsibility of the operator to comply with all current CSU, local, state and federal regulations at all times when operating a UAV.  All UAV operators must possess copies of their UARB approval, Flight Operation Plan, and any documentation which the law may require during the deployment of the UAV. The UARB or University Police may review this material at any time. In addition to any and all FAA operational guidelines, the following restrictions apply:

   1. Operator must conduct a preflight inspection to ensure UAV is safe to operate

   2.  The operator must maintain visual contact with the UAV at all times

   3.  The maximum operational altitude is 400 feet above ground level.  Operation at altitudes above 400 feet from ground level is prohibited, even if operating from the top of a structure.

   4.  UAV may not be operated in inclement weather that may affect the UAV’s ability to function or handle properly

   5.  UAV may not be operated over or near any public safety personnel during emergencies or when responding to calls

   6.  UAV may not be operated for the unauthorized recording/videoing of individuals, performances, or University events, or for any unlawful purpose

Operating UAV without an approved Flight Operations Plan violates university regulations, which can result in administrative actions upon the perpetrator(s).  UAV operated in violation of any federal, state, or local laws or contract provisions will be subject to grounding.

 

NAME POSITION EMAIL PHONE LOCATION
Calder, Joshua Senior Grant Administrator jdcalder@sfsu.edu 415.405.3575 ADM 471
Chau, Jenny Compliance Officer jchau@sfsu.edu 415.338.1862 ADM 471
Dorey, Antonio Grant Support Coordinator adorey@sfsu.edu 415.338.6851 ADM 471
Huynh, Elaine Grant Administrator  ebhuynh@sfsu.edu 415.405.4090 ADM 471
Knowles, Karin  Senior Grant Administrator klknowles@sfsu.edu 415.405.2570 ADM 471
Lee, Karen Senior Grant Administrator leesmile@sfsu.edu 415.338.2882 ADM 471
Li, Cecilia Senior Grant Administrator cecilial@sfsu.edu 415.338.1795 ADM 471
Lisa, Breeann Grant Support Coordinator blisa@sfsu.edu 415.338.3007 ADM 471
Lopez-Albinana, Richard Grand Administrator richardlopez@sfsu.edu 415.338.7091 ADM 471
Louie, Stephanie Grant Support Coordinator sglouie@sfsu.edu 415.338.2818 ADM 471
Manalo, Rowena Information & Reporting Specialist mamaradl@sfsu.edu 415.405.2685 ADM 471
Mou, Candy Senior Grant Administrator candymoo@sfsu.edu 415.405.4223 ADM 471
Murphy, Karl Animal Care Facility Manager kmurph@sfsu.edu 415.338.6336 HH 816
Paez, Julie Executive Assistant to AVP jpaez@sfsu.edu 415.405.3995 ADM 469
Paul, Raman Sponsored Programs Manager ramanp@sfsu.edu 415.338.3578 ADM 471
Paul, Swati Compliance Administrator swatip@sfsu.edu 415.405.4215 ADM 471
Pelton, Susan Director spelton@sfsu.edu 415.338.7090 ADM 469
Quijada, Eddy Grant Support Coordinator eddyalex@sfsu.edu 415.405.2792 ADM 471
Scott, Michael Associate Vice President mjscott@sfsu.edu 415.405.3943 ADM469
Tolentino, Jocelyn Senior Grant Human Resources Administrator jocelynt@sfsu.edu 415.405.3992 ADM 471
Wong, Kari Senior Grant Human Resources Administrator kari@sfsu.edu 415.405.4242 ADM 471
Student Assistants        
Angeles, Ethan (Mo) Student Assistant, IT eangeles@mail.sfsu.edu   ADM 469
Flores, Leslie Student Assistant, ACF Lflores11@mail.sfsu.edu   HH 816
Hartman, Georgia Student Assistant, ACF ghartman@mail.sfsu.edu   HH 816
Ramos, Arianna Student Assistant, ACF Aramos18@mail.sfsu.edu   HH 816
Ramos, Dorkhas Student Assistant, ACF Dramos13@mail.sfsu.edu   HH 816
Thakur, Achintya Student Assistant, Data Input athakur@mail.sfsu.edu   ADM 469
Valdez, Vanessa Joy Student Assistant, Compliance Vjvaldez1@gmail.com   ADM 471